Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > Marlin 5exi builds

Marlin 5exi builds Calling all you sexi builders....sorry 5exi builders, show us your progress.

Old 23rd June 2004, 19:00
Kit Car Dreamer

leecronin is on a distinguished road
Default which kit car to build - thinking of the 5exi

Hi,

I am new to kit-cars but am very impressed with the 5exi and think that I am going to go for this but I have a couple of general questions that I would be very grateful if anyone could help me with before join you all as a builder!:

(1) How do I chose the exact components? - I was justing thinking of getting the three kits - probably going for a 1.6 engine but trying to faithfully get the *EXACT* parts to reduce stress due to my lack of experience.

(2) Also, I was thinking of getting all new / re-conditioned parts - but can this be done cheaply?

(3) Is there anything anyone would do differently at this stage knowing you all know now? I have read the posts and gained some value info already....

Thanks!

Lee
Available from eBay
Old 24th June 2004, 11:19
Enthusiast

Ex-Biker is on a distinguished road

Welcome Lee

To ease the stress as you put it, the correct donor that should give you all the parts (just as Marlin designed it) is a 1.6 lt Rover 200/25 model from 95 - pres. In addition you will need a set of rear discs, callipers and handbrake cable.

There are other ways.