Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com
 

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > Marlin 5exi builds

Marlin 5exi builds Calling all you sexi builders....sorry 5exi builders, show us your progress.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12th March 2007, 19:43
alackofspeed's Avatar
alackofspeed alackofspeed is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,179
alackofspeed is on a distinguished road
Default

It happens - mine's only badly connected at the momet, and the other day my starter did exactly as you described....

"oh crap.... damn starter is dead.... oh no, wait a minute... IDIOT" was how my internal monolgue went!

So I've been there too!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12th March 2007, 19:45
craig's Avatar
craig craig is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tyne and wear
Posts: 784
craig is on a distinguished road
Default

What I still don't get though is that damn ignition switch engine cranks on either wire
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12th March 2007, 19:48
alackofspeed's Avatar
alackofspeed alackofspeed is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,179
alackofspeed is on a distinguished road
Default

When i was sussing mine out, I drew up a diagram much like John's then from that drew up the switch logic for my own benefit.

Yours will have exactly the same logic (it's pretty standard - same on my shopping trolley daily driver, and the type-r) just the colours might be different.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12th March 2007, 19:48
craig's Avatar
craig craig is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tyne and wear
Posts: 784
craig is on a distinguished road
Default

John, I know how you felt a couple of weeks ago now!!!! All I want now is to hear it running whereas 2 hours ago I wasn't that fussed

Looked at messenger does it need to be microsoft (licences etc) or can I still get hold of you through another one, will have to do it tomorrow night as the other half is getting restless
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12th March 2007, 19:56
craig's Avatar
craig craig is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tyne and wear
Posts: 784
craig is on a distinguished road
Default

Today has been a good day not only do I feel like I have crossed a major hurdle with my car I became an uncle 10 mins ago

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12th March 2007, 20:14
alackofspeed's Avatar
alackofspeed alackofspeed is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,179
alackofspeed is on a distinguished road
Default

You can use http://www.ceruleanstudios.com/ if you're bothered about licences.

Congrats to the baby makers in the family.

Being an uncle is definitely the way forward, as kids go - once you've had enough you can return them!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12th March 2007, 21:26
craig's Avatar
craig craig is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tyne and wear
Posts: 784
craig is on a distinguished road
Default

John is yahoo compatible with msn?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12th March 2007, 21:57
alackofspeed's Avatar
alackofspeed alackofspeed is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,179
alackofspeed is on a distinguished road
Default

yes i believe it is
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12th March 2007, 21:57
craig's Avatar
craig craig is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tyne and wear
Posts: 784
craig is on a distinguished road
Default

You should of had a message John
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 13th March 2007, 08:00
craig's Avatar
craig craig is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tyne and wear
Posts: 784
craig is on a distinguished road
Default

I have been playing this morning and can see inside the ignition
ign 1
ign 2
ign 2a

still not sure which marlin wire goes where, I have (marlin) 3 green wires 1 brown and 1 white- I know where the white goes
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 13th March 2007, 16:11
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi craig.

Right checked you wire colours. All matched up to mine just different labels.

Here goes.

At the ignition switch:

Red - Aux. you can use this at a later date to connect your radio switched live. ignore for now.

In1 (Brown/White) & In2 (Brown/Purple). On mine these was BatA & BatB. Twiddle these two together and connect into connection block with the Marlin Brown. This is temporary for testing.

IGN 2B (Green) ignore.

1 (Black/Yellow) & IGN2A (Yellow). I only had two Marlin greens. So connected both to the 1 (black/Yellow) wire. But as you have three, Connet any combination of the greens to the black/yellow and Yellow. For example Two greens on Black/yellow and one on Yellow. As long as the greens are connect to either of these wires.

White/Red - to Marlin white to Starter Motor.

At the business end (the engine bay )

Connect the Brown to the battery. I went via the Rover engine bay fuse box but in the rear of the Marlin. If that makes sense. 40 A fuse.

Can connect the Purple Wire to another fuse on the fuse box. But does not need to be done at this stage.

Bolt Marlin blacks to chassis.

Connect Marlin white to Starter solenoid. On the Rover this went via a relay. Not sure on the Honda.

Connect big red lead from starter to Battery. On the Rover there is a big black lead from gearbox. This goes to the negative of the battery.

At this stage, you should be able to crank the engine.

On the Rover, the green connected to ignition sense on the ECU.

I have emailed you the diagram on the other connections using the Rover ECU. Can't comment on the Honda ECU as I've not seen it!

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 13th March 2007, 20:46
SDMC001's Avatar
SDMC001 SDMC001 is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 351
SDMC001 is on a distinguished road
Default

Craig

Totally agree with the kids bit, stay an uncle. Go to mothercare to find a good seat for the marlin.

I felt your frustrations reading through the threads, I had those feelings, I find going in doors kicking the cat beating the wife, and getting drunk helps. I donít have a wife or a cat, so go straight for the drink. Usually do most of my thinking during the night, I would like sleep but as Bonjovi said, I do that when dead.

It looks like the other guys have offered some good advice, I did find though, I did used the Haynes rover manual when working out some of the wiring. What was more infuriating my partner seemed to make more sense of it, typical bloke, I donít read the instructions where she does.

Good luck

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 16th March 2007, 16:12
craig's Avatar
craig craig is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tyne and wear
Posts: 784
craig is on a distinguished road
Default

Have been playing with the wiring today and this is what I now have from John's explanation of the ignition switch:

engine cranks as before but green is now live on pos 3 and crank??
red aux is now live on pos 2,3 and crank

I am presuming this is now correct as red has never been live before but should green be live?

Still only get handbrake light on dash on crank though not battery and oil

thanks
Craig
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 16th March 2007, 18:02
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Craig.

"engine cranks as before but green is now live on pos 3 and crank??
red aux is now live on pos 2,3 and crank"

Yep the Green is correct. As I found out on trying to start my engine for the first time. If you don't get a supply to the green on cranking, you effectivly switch off the ECU on cranking. You will never get it started!.

The red might be different than mine. My red( Aux) is on at pos 1,2 but not crank.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 16th March 2007, 21:36
craig's Avatar
craig craig is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tyne and wear
Posts: 784
craig is on a distinguished road
Default

Sorry John, I meant the switch wires green and red which are not in use at the moment they are now showing live wheras before they were dead
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 17th March 2007, 08:43
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

Opps sorry Craig. I thought you ment Marlin Green.

Yes Green on your switch (IG2B) will be live so will need to be insolated. It was this wire I had connected to the Marlin Greens at my first engine start which failed. On mine, it goes dead on crank. Which means no power to ECU on crank.

Red should be live as well. But again might be differences in switches, but mine goes dead on crank.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +0. The time now is 14:10.

copyright © madabout-kitcars.com 2000-2019
terms and conditions | privacy policy