Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com
 

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > Phantom GTR/Vortex Builds

Phantom GTR/Vortex Builds In a Vortex with your Phantom build? Share your build experiences here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd June 2007, 10:52
kenmorton's Avatar
kenmorton kenmorton is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wrexham, N. Wales
Posts: 190
kenmorton is on a distinguished road
Default Petrol tank

I seem to remember Norman saying someone had the tank collapse because the filler cap wasn't letting air in. Was this the Phantom supplied cap ?
Has anyone else had the same problem ?
What was the little work around that Phantom thought up ?
Reason I ask is I havn't had any problems because I have had a small leak in the top of one of my pipes but now thats fixed I don't want to flatten my tank.
Reply With Quote
Available from eBay
  #2  
Old 3rd June 2007, 21:11
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,437
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Patrick Send a message via MSN to Patrick Send a message via Yahoo to Patrick
Default

I dunno how the setup on the phantom works but on my sportster I've got an extra tube that come out the top near the filler neck that is attached to a one way valve - this lets air in as the petrol is used up
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th June 2007, 11:16
ricola ricola is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 155
ricola is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ricola
Default

I haven't had problems either, it depends on the design of your filler cap, some of them automatically let air in as fuel is used. If yours doesn't a cheap way would be to do as Patrick suggests..

Rich
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th June 2007, 08:16
EddyP EddyP is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
EddyP is on a distinguished road
Default

Some of them do create a proper seal, you can tell because it makes a hiss noise when you take the cap off. simple solution, remove the cap, then in the funnel section of the cap drill a small hole, i think mines about 3mm, just enough to let some air in even if the cap's on.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +0. The time now is 04:01.

copyright madabout-kitcars.com 2000-2018
terms and conditions | privacy policy