Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > General Build Chat

General Build Chat Area for general build chat, questions, tips, tricks and progress

Old 10th April 2012, 23:05

Goggers is on a distinguished road
Default New to kits looking for advice

Hi,
Im completely new to building kit cars etc and just wondering if I could get some advice, maybe some good websites to look at etc.

Ok so this might sound somewhat ambitious but I have a MR2 mk2, the mechanics are sound but the body has seen better days. I was thinking of selling it but after doing a little searching I found various companies that sell replicas of lambo's etc. Not really my thing and i seen so many posts slamming those kits, not only that but i want something unique, what about designing and building my own body from something like fibreglass.

How much of the orig body can i remove, i mean i assume i can remove front wings, bumper, bonnet, back bumper and sides. Is it safe to replace all those parts with fibreglass panels?

Not bothered about how long it takes or how much I have to learn, i'm pretty good with practical things and always up for a challenge.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Available from eBay
Old 11th April 2012, 09:56

davecymru is on a distinguished road

Wotcha matey,