Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com
 

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > Marlin Sportster, Cabrio, Berlinetta and Roadster builds

Marlin Sportster, Cabrio, Berlinetta and Roadster builds Enthused or Confused about your vintage Marlin build? Ask away here or show off your build.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #441  
Old 4th September 2012, 21:57
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

for the longest time, i've been chasing down a high idle problem on Vikki - pretty much from the moment she's been road legal.

I've looked at all the intake and vac hoses, repeatedly checked the throttle position switch and the idle control valve.

I recently undertook a full electrical check on all the lines from the ECU to the various sensors, which where fine... But then I stumbled across what is more than likely the issue - the ECU is not sending the correct voltages to the idle control valve! :/

I'm just managed to get a new one off the sale boards on E30Zone, so I should be able to see if my hypothesis is correct.

Whilst I was at it buyingg stuff from the zone, I also managed to get a whole motronic 1.3 conversion 'kit' comprising of sensors, ancillaries, ECU, injectors & wiring harness. So once I've cleaned it all up, I'll have an early high compression engine with late engine control - NICE.
Reply With Quote
  #442  
Old 7th September 2012, 15:29
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Some of you may have noticed that some funny flaws have developed in the paintwork on vikkis driver side wings - I popped them of and took the to Normandale for a diagnosis, as the paint seems ok.

According to them, it's the gel coat under the paint that has cracked. The fiberglass is fine, but the gel is so brittle.

They're sorting it out for me, but it might be worth anyone who has had their car painted yet having the gel off where the bodywork can flex, and have it replaced with filler. That's what they're going to do with the wings.

I can only assume that the other wings haven't gone like it as they must either not flex as much, or the gel is a better quality on that side.

In other news, the replacement ECU arrived, and bugger me its doing exactly the same thing with this one as the original ECU. sits at 1000 rpm regardless of temp.

I've swapped out the blue temp sensor, checked for continuity on all the relevant cables running back to the ECU and checked all the hoses for leaks. Everything is ok, and in spec. So I'm stumped now... :/
Reply With Quote
  #443  
Old 7th September 2012, 21:39
jeremy jeremy is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 350
jeremy is on a distinguished road
Default idle

After a long saga, I found my incorrect/low voltage fault from ecu was due to alternator contact being intermittent...and thus icv and tps were reading low voltagefrom ecu fault...have you checked the charging status from this?
Reply With Quote
  #444  
Old 8th September 2012, 07:09
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Well, it certainly appears to be charging... When the engine is running, my voltmeter on the dash shows 13 to 14v, and when off (with ign on) its a solid 12v from the battery. I'll check it out today though.
Reply With Quote
  #445  
Old 8th September 2012, 18:15
MartinClan's Avatar
MartinClan MartinClan is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,773
MartinClan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatOldOne View Post
In other news, the replacement ECU arrived, and bugger me its doing exactly the same thing with this one as the original ECU. sits at 1000 rpm regardless of temp.
Stupid question I know - but have you checked the accuracy of the rev counter?

Robin
Reply With Quote
  #446  
Old 8th September 2012, 20:53
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes - it agrees with my multimeter that has a rev counter setting.
Reply With Quote
  #447  
Old 11th September 2012, 17:48
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Woe is me:

http://www.e30zone.net/modules.php?n...topic&t=225851

Should have left he bloody thing idling at 1000rpm - now it's up and down like a lady of negotiable affection's under clothes...
Reply With Quote
  #448  
Old 11th September 2012, 19:39
oaktree11 oaktree11 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sleaford, Lincolnshire
Posts: 209
oaktree11 is on a distinguished road
Default

Jason,
have engine bits coming out of my ears (well in a box anyway). I have one engine in bits and one runner in my second donor. I know I am a way from you but if you want to borrow anything feel free...
John
Reply With Quote
  #449  
Old 11th September 2012, 20:03
MartinClan's Avatar
MartinClan MartinClan is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,773
MartinClan is on a distinguished road
Default

Jason - did you replace the idle valve somewhere along the line? I have a spare one if you want to try it.

Robin
Reply With Quote
  #450  
Old 11th September 2012, 20:35
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

No, I haven't - if you don't mind sending it over I'll give it a go, as the one I have is definitely dead. If it wasn't stuck on the intake boot, it'd be pushing up the daisies...

Reply With Quote
  #451  
Old 23rd September 2012, 15:32
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Well, there's the problem...





Same issue on both ECUs - traces not so much damaged as completely burnt away. So that's both of those for the bin.

Guess I'll have to clean up and splice in the motronic 1.3 gear I have. Joy.
Reply With Quote
  #452  
Old 23rd September 2012, 16:27
peterux's Avatar
peterux peterux is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,878
peterux is on a distinguished road
Default

Ooooh, that looks nasty.
Have you been able to locate the short causing that?
Reply With Quote
  #453  
Old 23rd September 2012, 16:39
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a funny feeling that the short was self inflicted, as I was following a procedure for tuning motronic 1.0 that I found on E30Zone.

It calls for shorting all three pins of the ICV plug together to tell the ECU not to mess with the mixture setting whilst the various bypass screws are being adjusted. I don't think that this does what the original author of the article believed it does - I believe that in doing this it causes an overload, causing this lovely mess. This area must carry the ICV signals, as both ICVs I have work - but not when plugged in.

The moral of the story is, don't short these pins together!
Reply With Quote
  #454  
Old 24th September 2012, 08:40
denniswpearce denniswpearce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 287
denniswpearce is on a distinguished road
Default

Hmm, surely if you short anything together with power still applied then the result will be a failure of that component. The bigger the voltage the bigger the explosion.

I know its easy to say that after the event.

I have admiration for you boys with the things you will tackle.
Reply With Quote
  #455  
Old 24th September 2012, 10:06
peterux's Avatar
peterux peterux is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,878
peterux is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatOldOne View Post
It calls for shorting all three pins of the ICV plug together to tell the ECU not to mess with the mixture setting whilst the various bypass screws are being adjusted. I don't think that this does what the original author of the article believed it does - I believe that in doing this it causes an overload, causing this lovely mess. This area must carry the ICV signals, as both ICVs I have work - but not when plugged in.

The moral of the story is, don't short these pins together!
Well at least it's good to know the root cause. Searching for an intermittent short or open circuit in a wiring loom can be a nightmare.

I think swapping to the Motronic 1.3 may solve all your problems in one go and I imagine the ECU's are more plentiful for this version.

...peter
Reply With Quote
  #456  
Old 24th September 2012, 12:34
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes - I may need some reminders on what is needed and what isn't in the engine loom. I've already noticed that 1.3 has a permenant live to the ecu. 1.0 doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #457  
Old 12th November 2012, 20:26
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

http://greatoldone.squarespace.com/b...here-fast.html

More work, no play....
Reply With Quote
  #458  
Old 12th November 2012, 23:04
JG's Avatar
JG JG is offline
Senior Member
Big Cheese
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,052
JG has disabled reputation
Default

Fantastic work going on there.

I don't think I would cope with all this modern stuff, looks like you need a degree in absolutely everything.

Great to see what can be achieved though

John
Reply With Quote
  #459  
Old 28th November 2012, 10:17
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks John.

And in the words of Professor M - "Oh no, it's happened again"

http://greatoldone.squarespace.com/s...dertank3_1.jpg

I'm getting the fabricator who made my washer bottle to make that up for me so it should look like as good as it did:



It's my design, so If anyone likes the look of it and wants to get their own made up, feel free. It's the same size as a standard BMW header tank.

Shiny Shiny Shiny!!!
Reply With Quote
  #460  
Old 28th November 2012, 14:01
oaktree11 oaktree11 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sleaford, Lincolnshire
Posts: 209
oaktree11 is on a distinguished road
Default

Jason,

Did I miss something? What happened again?

John
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +0. The time now is 15:44.

copyright madabout-kitcars.com 2000-2020
terms and conditions | privacy policy