Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com
 

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > Marlin 5exi builds

Marlin 5exi builds Calling all you sexi builders....sorry 5exi builders, show us your progress.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st March 2011, 16:20
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default Harness bar piccies.

Hi everyone.

Has anybody got some pictures of the harness bar and how it's mounted?
Reply With Quote
Available from eBay
  #2  
Old 24th March 2011, 08:33
nutter's Avatar
nutter nutter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 147
nutter is on a distinguished road
Default

I haven't got that far yet.
But Im also interested in some pictures.
looking at my roll cage, the bar between the two roll cage uprights appears as if it needs to cut throught the fiberglass on the rear bulkhead.
It should be higher, my roll cage has already had to of been modified, due to manufacturing error, wondering if I have another manufacturing error here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th March 2011, 08:56
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

I think it's a bar that spans across between the seat belt mounts. But not sure if it's just a bar that bolts to the seat belt mounts on the rollbar.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th March 2011, 09:52
nutter's Avatar
nutter nutter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 147
nutter is on a distinguished road
Default

The harness bar bolts onto the same place as the interia reels. Same bracket different holes.
http://www.stsa.co.uk/gallery/5EXi/B...G_5875.JPG.php

It goes betweent the driver side roll bar and the passenger side roll bar.
You then loop the two top most harness straps around the bar, through holes in the seat back.
My concern is the holes for the bar in the roll cage appear to be too low to clear the rear fiber on the bulk head.
I think I will need to weld on a new plate, on the roll cage to increase the hole height and clear the fiber.
I guess you after some pictures of this set up?

Last edited by nutter; 24th March 2011 at 09:54..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th March 2011, 12:27
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Steve.

I see what you mean by the picture you posted.

Yes, would like to see how it's been done.

I'll have a look at mine tonight. Offer up a tube and see how it goes.

At the minute, the bar will only be used to clamp a video camera on. But forward thinking for harnesses.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th March 2011, 18:48
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

Your right Steve. You won't be able to bolt through the seat belt mount hole straight into a tube. It hits the middle section.

I'll give it a go Sunday. But the idea I have at the minute, as a temp measure for the camera, is bolt tube to flate plate metal. Then bolt flat plate metal to seat belt mount.

Eventually getting correct strength tube and welding it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th March 2011, 07:46
nutter's Avatar
nutter nutter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 147
nutter is on a distinguished road
Default

My solution is to weld a plate on top of the bracket to "mirror" the bottom. if that makes sense.
Then use this plate with sutiable hole to mount the bar.

Can you not mount a camera using a roll cage mount hanging from the top?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th March 2011, 11:27
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutter View Post
My solution is to weld a plate on top of the bracket to "mirror" the bottom. if that makes sense.
Then use this plate with sutiable hole to mount the bar.
Do you mean the seat belt bottom mount? On mine, the seat belt plate is at the top, not at the bottom if that makes sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutter View Post
Can you not mount a camera using a roll cage mount hanging from the top?
Trouble is with mounting to the rollbar, is either the camera will be like one of those smart cars that fine you. With a lot of wind noise.



Or the camera will be mounted up side down as you can't rotate the camera 180 degrees.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th March 2011, 11:32
nutter's Avatar
nutter nutter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 147
nutter is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by limpabit View Post
Or the camera will be mounted up side down as you can't rotate the camera 180 degrees.
Rotate the output.....?
Rotating jpegs is easy.
Rotating video, can be done with a video editor.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th March 2011, 07:10
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

Looking at the other post by George, the bar should fit straight across. I will have a play tomorrow. Work getting in the way today.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28th March 2011, 21:13
alackofspeed's Avatar
alackofspeed alackofspeed is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,180
alackofspeed is on a distinguished road
Default

You can tell a GoPro that it's upside down, and the video is output correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29th March 2011, 07:25
limpabit's Avatar
limpabit limpabit is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Basildon, Essex
Posts: 1,800
limpabit is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks John. Thats a great built in feature. Well thought out in every way. Everytime I read anything about the gopro, it just keeps getting better. Got fantastic reviews.

Hopefully know, after a bit of experimenting with positions, I'll get some decent videos in the Marlin. Also try it under water next month in Egypt.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +0. The time now is 01:52.

copyright madabout-kitcars.com 2000-2021
terms and conditions | privacy policy