Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Chat > General chatter

General chatter This is the place to talk about anything kit car related that doesn't come under any of the other categories

Old 27th January 2014, 18:23

Ringo Grumio is on a distinguished road
Default Welders - mig

I've introduced myself to a few on here and as you know, I'm new to the kit car scene but I've spent a fair bit of time restoring and fettling 4x4's over the years, so generally know my way around vehicles.

I'm no nearer deciding which budget kit and or donor car to go for, but one thing seems certain, I'm going to need to fabricate, which I enjoy. Since it has been a few years since my crappy Cosmo mig gave up the ghost I thought I ask for any 'budget' recommendations for mig welder that you guys may have used.

I know like everything you get what you pay for, but I'm quite happy to dip into the used market and I'm keen to avoid the cheap Chinese versions like the Pos Cosmos that I had previously.

I'm also keen for any suggestions for to help with my kit car decisions. I'm initially swaying towards the newer donor car based kits, mx5, e36 etc due to reliability of donors and less fettling/reviving needed, but I'm open minded. Budgets are tight which makes the Sammio, Ribble and Tributes seem appealing.
Available from eBay
Old 30th January 2014, 08:42

WorldClassAccident is on a distinguished road

Buy the Z300S and you don't need to weld anything, 10mm - 17mm socket set and a bit of paste to bond the bonnet.