Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com
 

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > Tribute Automotive Builds

Tribute Automotive Builds Discuss your Tribute kit build

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #161  
Old 21st July 2019, 07:47
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

I have updated the photo to include names to each connection, as it may help in case someone wanted to have a go themselves ...

Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 21st July 2019, 07:49
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piguin View Post
Maybe blue and white wouldn't be ideal on the top 'shelf' of the new dashboard due to reflections in the windscreen?
It's a good point, I hadn't considered this. Thanks. I will later the faux leather in situe and test to see whether this may be a problem. Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 21st July 2019, 07:57
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveP View Post
Very interesting approach which is, after sleeping on it, very logical.

What are doing about the lcd display for mileage / service intervals etc ?

Dave
Early bird as well, Dave? I am just about to head to the garage after my coffee

The LCD is still available and fully functional. I did have a quick peak at seeing whether I could dettach the LCD and extend it, so I could have it recessed behind a flap in the new dash, but sadly not. It will be accessible behind the dash in case needed. But my new GPS speedometer has adjustable mileage, so it will show the total mileage of my car. As for service info - I am not that bothered. I also have a OBD2 MX Link fitted, so I can view all data (issues, monitoring, logs, etc.) from my phone.
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 21st July 2019, 21:09
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Cut the dash panel today using 6mm MDF.

Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 21st July 2019, 21:11
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

I started marking up all the dimensions and cutouts. Also made the glovebox.

Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 22nd July 2019, 08:23
casamolino casamolino is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 397
casamolino is on a distinguished road
Default

Good morning for the first time since i have replaced the Z3 instrument panel with separate warning lights and instruments the MOT station this year failed my car on no ABS light , Geoff .
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 22nd July 2019, 09:51
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Geoff, do you mean this one? I can add it if needed by MOT stations. Many thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 22nd July 2019, 09:57
casamolino casamolino is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 397
casamolino is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes that`s the one , wiring looks good , are you buying new gauges or making your own? Geoff .
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 22nd July 2019, 10:01
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok, thanks, I will add that one too. That makes 12 lights in total.

I have been buying cheap 52mm gauges, but replacing the workings with BMW bits. They end up looking the same as the retro 52mm gauges, but still using German tech.
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 22nd July 2019, 13:05
casamolino casamolino is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 397
casamolino is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi that is what i have done on both my SWBs , although the main difference between the two is that on my second car i decided to have the small Veglia dials with the indicator needles pointing downwards , this meant i could not think of a way of using the standard Z3 fuel and water guages , i decided to fit the Z3 fuel gauge within the large Veglia speedo (courtesy of a Alfa 105 series car) , for the water gauge i used a non-modified Veglia water unit but attached to a seperate sender unit fitted into the top hose , all the best with the dash , Geoff .





Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 22nd July 2019, 14:06
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Those veglia gauges look the business! Ingenious putting the fuel gauge inside the speedo. Is that the original Z3 needle that i can see?

I believe you can change the direction of the stepper motor on the back of a dashboard gauge by reversing the polarity on the coil. Then, just rotate the stepper motor 90 degrees anti-clockwise on the back of the dial.



More info here.

All the best.
Chris.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 22nd July 2019, 16:44
casamolino casamolino is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 397
casamolino is on a distinguished road
Default

Afternoon Chris yes that is the original Z3 fuel needle , have you tried the reverse polarity mod yet ? Geoff .
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 22nd July 2019, 20:21
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Geoff, no, but the science stacks up. I will have a go and post back the results. Cheers, Chris.
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 23rd July 2019, 08:36
Paul L's Avatar
Paul L Paul L is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wembley, London
Posts: 4,919
Paul L is on a distinguished road
Default

clinkadink - Nice work Chris.

I thought your computer mock ups of the dash were impressive.

But the skills required to make this dash in reality are equally high tech.

Good luck, Paul.
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 23rd July 2019, 21:04
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Paul. Its been fun, and that's the main thing. Although tonight I hit a snag. The GPS Speedo I purchased to replace the Z3 speedo, was meant to have adjustable mileage. It hasn't. There is a grommet which when removed should reveal a momentary switch. But its isn't there. I have stripped it down to see if I can bridge the connections on the gauge's PCB, just to set the mileage ... alas no. I've already wrote a disgruntled message to the ebay seller.

I now have 2 choices ...
  1. Purchase another GPS unit and hope the 'adjustable mileage' button is present and it works (although the last one took a couple of weeks to arrive)
  2. Buy an old Smiths speedo, fit the Z3 workings in that. But this would mean I would have to display the original Z3 LCD somewhere (probably too big to insert inside the speedo, width/height wise). Also, this involves extending approximately 40 pins from the PCB to the new dash It can be done, but it's more work. I might be able to use an old 40 pin IDE ribbon cable out of a PC.

Either way, there's no going back now

I'll sleep on it (if that's possible in this heat) and see what tomorrow brings.
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 24th July 2019, 06:00
JoeB JoeB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Coventry
Posts: 36
JoeB is on a distinguished road
Default

It is a pain to remove the LCD from the original cluster but it can be done! I have mounted the original LCD display in my dash behind a piece of clear acrylic with some limo tint film applied to it. I have put in a push button to bring on the display back light. This way it is not on display all the time but can be seen if required.
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 24th July 2019, 18:24
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Joe. Good to know it can be done. I like the idea of connecting the 2 bulbs at back to a switch, to display the LCD as and when required. Good tip!
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 26th July 2019, 20:51
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

The weather has cooled enough for me to get back in the garage. I decided to go ahead and remove the Z3 LCD display from the instrument cluster's PCB. Its a 32 pin connector, highlighted in red below.

Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 26th July 2019, 20:59
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

I desoldered each of the 32 pins, and removed the LCD connector. Heads up to anyone else doing this, take care of the pins, they have a tendancy to pop off the white plastic mount and launch themselves in random directions. I marked the first and last pin on each side of the white plastic mount with black pen, so I knew where to reinsert the pins if they came loose (which they did).

Photo below shows the connector removed, along side the LCD, rear coloured filter, and housing. Tomorrow, i'll wire up the extension cable (circa 30cm) between the PCB board and the LCD connector, allowing me to flush fit it to the dash.

Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 27th July 2019, 20:31
clinkadink's Avatar
clinkadink clinkadink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 150
clinkadink is on a distinguished road
Default

Today I extended the LCD, 32 wires x 400mm. The board is looking a little chaotic

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +0. The time now is 12:47.

copyright madabout-kitcars.com 2000-2020
terms and conditions | privacy policy