Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com
 

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > Marlin Sportster, Cabrio, Berlinetta and Roadster builds

Marlin Sportster, Cabrio, Berlinetta and Roadster builds Enthused or Confused about your vintage Marlin build? Ask away here or show off your build.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th September 2009, 05:19
jeremy jeremy is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 350
jeremy is on a distinguished road
Default battery

I am mounting the battery in the back of the car, and like the idea of a red top, as it has an alloy carrier available, which can be bolted in for safety.Would a red top or equivilent be able to power lights, radio etc.?
Reply With Quote
Available from eBay
  #2  
Old 18th September 2009, 10:50
MartinClan's Avatar
MartinClan MartinClan is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,775
MartinClan is on a distinguished road
Default

In fact the battery doesn'y really power anything under normal engine running - all of the enerrgy is supplied by the alternator. It's when the engine isn't running, or if it is only at idle that the battery supplies any juice. So as long as

1. The red top can supply sufficient cranking power (amps when starting)
2. You don't have too much turned on for too long when you are idling

I would say that the Red Top would be fine.

Make sure that you use a HUGE cable to go from front to back and that is is very well protected. I would consider using a fusible link at the battery end. But it would have to be a big-un. (Less than the battery short circuit current but more than the cranking current)

Robin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th September 2009, 11:58
Chris Cussen's Avatar
Chris Cussen Chris Cussen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somerset
Posts: 518
Chris Cussen is on a distinguished road
Default

That's going to be a f**king big fuse! The starter motor initally draws in excess of 200amps, though it drops rapidly as the motor spins up. It would be difficult to choose a fuse that could discrimate between a short circuit and the ordinary current drawn.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th September 2009, 13:33
MartinClan's Avatar
MartinClan MartinClan is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,775
MartinClan is on a distinguished road
Default

Some of the larger fuseable links are rated at 250 amps. I would have thought this would be OK. As the starter motor consumption drops rapidly I don't think it would blow. But it would blow if the battery had a dead short to ground for any period.

Maybe I am over cautious but the thought of running the power from the battery all that way without a link would cause me some concern.


Robin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th September 2009, 17:20
jeremy jeremy is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 350
jeremy is on a distinguished road
Default fuse

can anyone remember how the original bmw does this with the battery in the boot?

Last edited by jeremy; 18th September 2009 at 17:21.. Reason: mispelling
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st September 2009, 08:44
MartinClan's Avatar
MartinClan MartinClan is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,775
MartinClan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy View Post
can anyone remember how the original bmw does this with the battery in the boot?
Yep.....

They run two cables up to the front. A naffing great big one for the starter and a smaller one for the other electrics and engine management system. The reason for a seperate one for the engine management is to stop any voltage fluctuations while the engine is cranking from affecting the ECU.

I still have some of the cable left that I stripped from the donor if you would like me to check on its size....

Robin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd September 2009, 00:36
jeremy jeremy is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 350
jeremy is on a distinguished road
Default battery

thanks for the advice..red top it is,as i set the standard 069 in the back area,and it is just to big and heavy.Next question..red top 25 or 30?It is to run a 2.5i e36 engine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd September 2009, 08:21
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Just as a matter of interest Jeremy, why are you putting the battery in the boot? Why not use the battery tray in the front?

I got a standard sized Bosch battery in there along with the swirl pot and brake fluid res with space to spare.



If Red Tops are smaller, you'd have plenty of room, and could bolt the carrier into the shelf the battery sits on. You'd then not have to have a massive run of battery cable to the boot.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd September 2009, 11:19
jeremy jeremy is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 350
jeremy is on a distinguished road
Default battery

mainly due to lack of space at the front.I have the e36 lump in there, and it takes up more space -length and width,and have mounted my expansion/header in the battery space,with the swirl pot.The area in front of the passenger bulkhead is taken up with the fuel pump and filter, my wiring loom entry into the car, and the modified air entry inlet for the beast.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd September 2009, 11:33
GreatOldOne's Avatar
GreatOldOne GreatOldOne is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 1,886
GreatOldOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Ahhhh - I see.

As they're small, could you mount it on top of the scuttle? The brackets that Red-Top do say that they're ok on their side, so you could lay the battery down.

You just need to see if you have enough clearance between the scuttle and the bonnet.

http://www.varleyredtop.com/products_25.htm

The 25 is only 77mm wide, (or high if you lay it flat)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22nd September 2009, 13:45
MartinClan's Avatar
MartinClan MartinClan is offline
Senior Member
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,775
MartinClan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatOldOne View Post
Ahhhh - I see.

As they're small, could you mount it on top of the scuttle? The brackets that Red-Top do say that they're ok on their side, so you could lay the battery down.

You just need to see if you have enough clearance between the scuttle and the bonnet.

http://www.varleyredtop.com/products_25.htm

The 25 is only 77mm wide, (or high if you lay it flat)
Another possibility is the passenger footwell. A lot better than at the rear and having to run a long cable. There was somebody else doing this - can't remember who.

Robin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +0. The time now is 13:32.

copyright madabout-kitcars.com 2000-2020
terms and conditions | privacy policy